Search Results for: news american sociology association honors joe feagin with-distinguished-scholarship-



Honors in the College of Liberal Arts provides a unique educational experience. Each year, participants choose honors courses designed to foster an interdisciplinary outlook characteristic of theLiberal Arts. Participants work closely with some of the most distinguished faculty at Texas A&M University and experience what it means to be a part of a community of […]

Sociology professor recognized for teaching excellence

Reuben May

By Robyn Mundy Reuben May Reuben May, a professor of sociology, is one of four members of the Texas A&M University faculty to be honored with University Professorships for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence (UPUTE), which recognizes the most distinguished and dedicated undergraduate educators. He now holds a Glasscock University Professorship for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence funded by […]

Liberal Arts dean to recognize Distinguished Achievement Award recipients

SquareAssocStacked_AggieMaroon copy

By Heather Rodriguez Texas A&M University’s Association of Former Students (AFS) has awarded four College of Liberal Arts faculty members the 2015 University Distinguished Achievement Award for College-Level Teaching, one of the university’s highest honors. This award honors professionals who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M. Athreya Sheela Athreya, associate professor […]

Graduate student chosen for honors seminar

Andrea Terry crop

By Sebastian Maldonado Andrea Terry, a doctoral student from Department of Communication, was selected to attend the National Communication Association (NCA) Doctoral Honors Seminar this summer, along with 33 other highly-regarded communication scholars. Andrea Terry The annual seminar is sponsored by the NCA to assemble distinguished faculty and doctoral students from around the country to […]

Former students receive Distinguished Alumnus Awards

SquareAssocStacked_AggieMaroon copy

Three former students of the College of Liberal Arts are among those selected to receive the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M University. The Distinguished Alumus Award is given jointly by the Association of Former Students (AFS) and Texas A&M to former students who have achieved excellence in their respective careers […]

Faculty to meet with Owen Williams of the Folger Institute


By Heather Rodriguez Owen Williams, the Folger Institute Consortium’s Assistant Director for Scholarly Programs, will give a presentation of exciting research opportunities to Texas A&M University faculty and students on April 27. His talk, “Scholarly Collaboration and Research Opportunities at the Folger Shakespeare Library,” will take place in Glasscock 311 at 3:30 p.m. The consortium […]

Climate and Inclusion Committee Members

Camal Pulak, Associate Professor, Anthropology Lori Wright, Professor, Anthropology Tasha Dubriwny, Associate Professor, Communication Alexandra Schuur Sousa, Graduate Student, Communication Amy Glass, Associate Professor, Economics Terence Hoagwood, Professor, English Boosung Kim, Graduate Assistant, English Rick Curry, Associate Professor, Hispanic Studies Jonathan Coopersmith, Associate Professor, History Dinah Hannaford, Assistant Professor, International Studies Sema Pulak, Lecturer, English Language Institute Dianne […]

Pamela R. Matthews named new dean of College of Liberal Arts

Dean Matthews

Dean Pamela R. Matthews By Heather Rodriguez The Board of Regents of Texas A&M University on Wednesday named Dr. Pamela R. Matthews the new dean of the College of Liberal Arts, effective immediately. A Professor of English, she has been serving as the college’s interim dean since July 2014. “It is an honor and a […]


In the College of Liberal Arts at Texas A&M University, you will find a world of possibilities and expert faculty to guide you through them. In the humanities Texas A&M is respected for its scholarship AND teaching in American literature, military history, and languages. In the social sciences, Texas A&M is among the leaders in […]

Endowed faculty appointments awarded


By Sebastian Maldonado Seven College of Liberal Arts faculty members have been honored with endowed faculty positions or fellowships for scholarly excellence and invaluable mentorship. Those awarded include Sandra Braman, from the Department of Communication; Elizabeth Cobbs, of the Department of History; Li Gan, of the Department of Economics; Steve Maren, of the Department of […]