Search Results for: news history professor finds success both in and-out-of-the-classroom

History lecturer named Student Veteran Supporter of the Year

_R1A0007 edited

William (Bill) Collopy (middle) William (Bill) Collopy, a lecturer with the Department of History, has been named the Veteran Supporter of the Year by Texas A&M University’s Veteran Resource and Support Center. This recognition was coordinated by the center’s new Faculty, Staff & Advisor Veteran Support Recognition Program, which allows graduating veteran students to identify […]

Liberal Arts alumnus finds his dream job in Aggieland

Dallas Shipp

By Tyler Webb As a journalism graduate from Texas A&M University and sports editor for The Battalion, Dallas Shipp ’03 envisioned a future as a writer.  It wasn’t until he opened up an insurance agency in 2008 with another colleague that Shipp realized he had a different passion. Shipp is currently the Director of Marketing […]

Student initiates career with SGA and the College of Liberal Arts


Sophomore psychology student, Hannah Wimberly Sophomore College of Liberal Arts student Hannah Wimberly wants to get inside of your head. As a psychology major, she is working to understand the human mind. In her involvement with the Student Government Association (SGA), she is working to apply these understandings to make campus a better place. Through […]

Faculty named 2015 Arts and Humanities Fellows

final photo

By Sebastian Maldonado Six Texas A&M University faculty members have been awarded Arts and Humanities Fellowships for extraordinary scholarship, and five honorees are from the College of Liberal Arts. From left: Glen A. Laine, Peter Lieuwen, Galen D. Newman, Kristan A. Poirot, Olga Dror, Brian Rouleau, and Daniel L. Schwartz. (Photo by Michael Kellett) Coordinated […]

Professor bestowed China’s highest honor in economic science


By Sebastian Maldonado Economics professor Guoqiang Tian has been awarded the Sun Yefang Award for his book, China’s Reform: History, Logic and Future, which is granted by the Sun Yefang Economic Science Foundation and serves as China’s highest honor in economic science. Guoqiang Tian In his book, Tian describes China’s economic reform from planned to […]