Skip to main content
Vaughn Bryant

What We Leave Behind

Posted January 22, 2020

Marijo Gauthier-Bérubé, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Anthropology, remarks in his editorial article on the journey of Vaughn Bryant, founder of the Department of Anthropology at Texas A&M. This article originally appeared on the College of Liberal Arts website.

Darryl de Ruiter

Dialogue with Department Head: Darryl de Ruiter

Posted November 14, 2019

Anthropology professor Darryl de Ruiter is stepping into a new role of Head of the Department of Anthropology. In this dialogue, de Ruiter shares why he believes studying fossil evidence for human evolution is relevant for today’s issues, as well as the value of an education in anthropology and what he hopes to do as Department Head.   […]

Ancestry / Genealogy Icon with Family Tree Album Web Header Banner and Icon Set

Department of Anthropology Symposium

Posted February 15, 2019

  Pop-Culture Racism? Race, Identity, and the Dangers of Genetic Ancestry Testing   Friday, March 1st 9:30 am – 5 pm Texas A&M University Hotel and Conference Center The Ross Room Abstract for the Symposium Popular conceptions of race are deeply embedded in everyday life. For decades, anthropologists have argued that biological variations among different […]