Skip to main content

Dawson Odom – May 2021

Texas A&M Department of Economics Amazing Student
May 2021

Dawson Odom headshotName:

Dawson Odom


Kingwood, TX

High School:

Kingwood HS

Degree objective:

B.S. in Economics + MS in Economics (Fastrack)

Expected graduation:

May 2021

University highlights, awards, scholarships:

Placing at some races for the triathlon team, making the Dean’s list, getting to speak to high school counselors about what Econ means to me.

Clubs/Organizations I am (was) a part of:

Texas A&M Triathlon Team, Econ Society

Current employment:

I’m not sure what the official title would be, but I help train hunting dogs on a ranch.

Family ties to Texas A&M:

The vast majority of my family has gone to the University of Texas. This includes my parents as well as extended family. I have one aunt who went to A&M, and I used to give her a hard time for it. Now, I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else but A&M.

I chose to attend Texas A&M because…

I felt like it was home when I visited. The people really do make a place, and the people in College Station are great.

My favorite things to do on campus are…

I enjoy going to the rec, eating at Smashburger, and strolling down military walk.

When I have free time, I like…

I enjoy going on adventures outside with my wife, listening to music, and training jiu jitsu and kickboxing.

The craziest thing I’ve done is…

Recently, my wife and I dove a large wreck out in the Florida Keys that was about 80-90 feet deep.

My favorite place to study is…

Anywhere outside.

My favorite ECON professor is…

This is a tough question. I have enjoyed all my professors at A&M including Meer, Hoekstra, Edwardson, and many others.

My favorite part of being an Economics student is…

I love how Econ involves everything. There’s so many directions you can go with it.

If I could share an afternoon with anyone, I would love to share it with…

Jocko Willink

If I knew I could not fail, I would…

I would probably start a super cool business because it’s not really in my nature to sit at a desk all day.

If money was not a consideration, I would love to…

Travel the world, but more importantly, help others that are not as fortunate as I am.

What is your passion and how are you committed to pursuing it?

I want to be the best husband (and hopefully father one day) that I can be. In order to do this, I have to be selfless and always choose to love. I also want to get a black belt in jiu jitsu. This will require many years of consistent, hard training.

After graduation, I plan to…

I will be starting a full time job with PwC doing transfer pricing.

The one Texas A&M experience I will always remember is…

When I met my wife at the swimming pool