Skip to main content

Africana Studies Faculty

Nandini Bhattacharya Professor of English, Affiliated Professor of Africana Studies, Affiliated Professor of Women's and Gender Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • English
  • Women's and Gender Studies
nbhattac@tamu.edu (979) 862-4331 LAAH 563 Vita/CV
Albert Broussard Professor of History, Affiliated Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • History
a-broussard@tamu.edu Glasscock 103C Vita/CV
Adrienne Carter-Sowell Associate Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences, Associate Professor of Africana Studies, Affiliated Associate Professor of Women's and Gender Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Women's and Gender Studies
acsowell@tamu.edu Psychology 271 Vita/CV
Michael Collins Associate Professor of English, Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • English
mikec@tamu.edu (979) 458-3368 LAAH 478 Vita/CV
David Donkor Associate Professor of Performance Studies, Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Performance Studies
dadonkor@tamu.edu (979) 862-8531 LAAH 276 Vita/CV
Amy Earhart Associate Professor of English, Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • English
aearhart@tamu.edu (979) 862-3038 LAAH 469 Vita/CV
Joe Feagin Professor of Sociology, Affiliated Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Sociology
feagin@tamu.edu (979) 862-3952 ACAD 431 Vita/CV
Carmela Garritano Associate Professor of International Studies, Affiliated Associate Professor of Film Studies, Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Film Studies
  • International Studies
cgarritano@tamu.edu (979) 845-5144 ACAD Vita/CV
Sarah Gatson Associate Professor of Sociology, Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies, Affiliated Associate Professor of Women's and Gender Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Sociology
  • Women's and Gender Studies
gatson@tamu.edu (979) 845-7267 ACAD 427 Vita/CV
Rebecca Hankins Associate Professor of Libraries, Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies, Affiliated Associate Professor of Women's and Gender Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Women's and Gender Studies
  • Library Science
rhankins@tamu.edu (979) 845-7951 Cushing Library
Dinah Hannaford Assistant Professor of International Studies, Affiliated Assistant Professor of Africana Studies, Affiliated Assistant Professor of Women's and Gender Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • International Studies
  • Women's and Gender Studies
dhannaford1@tamu.edu (979) 845-2124 ACAD 229C
Joseph Jewell Associate Professor of Sociology, Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Sociology
jjewell@tamu.edu (979) 458-0491 ACAD 419 Vita/CV
Violet Johnson Associate Dean of Faculty, Liberal Arts, Professor of History, Affiliated Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • History
  • Philosophy
vmjohnson@tamu.edu (979) 845-5164 Coke 301 Vita/CV
Verna Keith Director Race and Ethnic Studies Institute, Affiliated Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Sociology
keithvm@tamu.edu (979) 845-0966 ACAD 323
Alain Lawo-Sukam Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies, Associate Professor of Africana Studies, Affiliated Associate Professor of Latino/a and Mexican American Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Hispanic Studies
  • Latino/a and Mexican American Studies
lawosukam@tamu.edu ACAD 202D Vita/CV Personal Website
Reuben May Professor of Sociology, Affiliated Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Sociology
rmay@tamu.edu (979) 862-4650 ACAD 439 Vita/CV
Robin Means Coleman Vice President & Associate Provost for Diversity, Professor of Communication , Affiliated Professor of Africana Studies, Affiliated Professor of Women's and Gender Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Communication
  • Women's and Gender Studies
rrmc@tamu.edu Administration Building Suite 100
Wendy Moore Associate Professor of Sociology, Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Sociology
wlmoore@tamu.edu (979) 845-5133 ACAD 421 Vita/CV
Rebecca Schloss Associate Professor of History and Affiliated Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • History
rhschloss@tamu.edu (979) 458-4028 Glasscock 207B Vita/CV