Skip to main content

International Studies Student Receives a 2021 Gathright/Dean’s Excellence Award

The Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award in College of Liberal Arts goes to Mahera Muquith, an International Studies Honors student.


2021 Gathright/Dean’s Excellence Award Winners

Chapter 053 of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is proud to announce the 2021 cohort of freshman and sophomore Gathright and Dean’s Excellence Award winners!

To see the list of 2021 Gathright Outstanding Juniors announced last spring, visit 2021 Gathright Outstanding Juniors Announced.

A black and white portrait of a bearded man in half-profile wearing a jacket and bowtie.
Portrait of President Thomas S. Gathright provided courtesy of Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University

These awards were created in collaboration with LAUNCH: Academic Excellence to help recognize and celebrate outstanding first- and second-year students whose exceptional promise makes them good candidates for future awards.

Up to two students in each classification in each college can be selected for recognition; the top student is recognized with the Gathright Scholar Award and the second with the Dean’s Excellence Award. Up to two additional students in each classification in each college can selected for honorable mention. Students selected for recognition are invited to visit with Phi Kappa Phi officers as well as their college dean at a special breakfast each fall.

The students being recognized with the 2021 Gathright/Dean’s Excellence Awards are:

Agriculture and Life Science

  • Eber Villazana – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Miles Coltyn Cook – Freshman Dean’s Excellence Award
  • Clayton Elbel – Sophomore Gathright Scholar
  • Josey Lynn Darby – Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award


  • Ekaansh Kalra – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Aidan Lozano – Freshman Dean’s Excellence Award

Education and Human Development

  • Layla Rushing – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Emily Lucas – Sophomore Gathright Scholar


  • Kevin Yao – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Angelina Baltazar – Freshman Dean’s Excellence Award
  • Anita Sumali – Sophomore Gathright Scholar
  • Luke Batteas – Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award

Liberal Arts

  • Jose Solis – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Julia Patterson – Freshman Dean’s Excellence Award
  • Dana Dang – Sophomore Gathright Scholar
  • Mahera Muquith – Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award

Mays Business School

  • Kade McAdams – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Ramyani Roy – Freshman Dean’s Excellence Award
  • Joseph Rodgers – Sophomore Gathright Scholar
  • Aabid Razvi – Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award


  • Alyssa Akomer – Sophomore Gathright Scholar

Public Health

  • Matilin Rigsby – Sophomore Gathright Scholar
  • Prisha Patel – Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award


  • Connor Bowerman – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Elizabeth Lewis – Freshman Dean’s Excellence Award
  • Brianna Bishop – Sophomore Gathright Scholar
  • Katherine Weaver – Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award

Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

  • Ananya Pillai – Freshman Gathright Scholar
  • Tammy Tran – Freshman Dean’s Excellence Award
  • Shruti Mavuri – Sophomore Gathright Scholar
  • Emily Or – Sophomore Dean’s Excellence Award

The following students achieved Honorable Mention:

Agriculture and Life Science

  •  Chris Barron – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Amanda Pastrano – Sophomore Honorable Mention


  • Heather Chang – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Rishabh Vishnuraj Prasad – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Jeremy Thomas – Sophomore Honorable Mention

Liberal Arts

  • Reagan Smith – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Jake Turner – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Andrew Borseth – Sophomore Honorable Mention

Mays Business School

  • Colton Moraine – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Leah Kincaid – Sophomore Honorable Mention

Public Health

  • Riley Johnson – Sophomore Honorable Mention
  • Nimisha Srikanth – Sophomore Honorable Mention


  • Adrienne Gruis – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Iris Yang – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Jordan Bass – Sophomore Honorable Mention
  • Nathan Davis – Sophomore Honorable Mention

Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

  • Michelle Nguyen – Freshman Honorable Mention
  • Emily Leeke – Sophomore Honorable Mention

The application process includes a personal statement which outlines the student’s long-term goals, evidence of research and/or creative production, community engagement, accomplishments and awards, as well as a review of the student’s transcript.

Complete details for the application process can be found at

Support for the Gathright Dean’s Excellence Award and many other LAUNCH programs that enrich the undergraduate experience are generously supported by The Association of Former Students.

Aggie Ring Logo with text "Proudly supported by: The Association of Former Students Texas A&M University"