Skip to main content

  • Dr. Gregory Pappas

    Dr. Gregory Pappas Featured For Research From The National Humanities Center

    The National Humanities Center is featuring the work of Dr. Gregory Pappas in a section Featured Research: The Examined Life.  Dr. Pappas is a Fellow from the class of 2021-2022 with the National Humanities Center, and his featured research project is Injustice: An Inter-American and Community of Inquiry Approach. According to Dr. Pappas, this research […]

  • Dr. George Appointed as First Philosopher to Nursing Faculty at the University of Calgary

    Dr. Theodore George has been appointed as an Adjunct Professor to the Nursing Faculty at the University of Calgary, becoming the first philosopher as a member of the faculty. Building on a relationship with Dr. Nancy Moules, a professor and associate dean of research for the nursing faculty, that started in 2015 at the North […]

  • Conway

    Dr. Daniel Conway Selected as Fulbright Scholar

    Congratulations to Dr. Daniel Conway for being selected as a Fulbright US Scholar for 2022-2023 by a presidentially appointed 12-member board as a reflection of his leadership and contributions to society. The Fulbright Program is devoted to increasing mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. In being […]

  • Dr. Linda Radzik

    Dr. Linda Radzik Named to University Professorship

    Congratulations to Dr. Linda Radzik for being named to a University Professorship for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence (UPUTE). Selected professors demonstrate themselves as exceptional instructors, and innovators in pedagogy, pushing the field by exploring new teaching methods. The Thamann Professorship in Undergraduate Teaching Excellence, made possible through an endowment from Arthur J. and Wilhelmina Dore Thamann, […]

  • 5th Annual Bovay Workshop on Engineering and Applied Ethics

    On Tuesday April 26th, 2022, the Philosophy Department at Texas A&M University will be hosting the Fifth Annual Bovay Workshop on Engineering and Applied Ethics. Bringing in scholars from around the country and this year’s conference will focus on A.I and the ethical engineering of complex systems. The conference will be in the YMCA Building, […]

  • Texas A&M University Philosophy Graduate Student Conference

    Victoria Green and Jyothis James have partnered with the Melbern G. Glasscock Center for Humanities Research to present the Spring 2022 Texas A&M University Graduate Student Conference featuring Dr. Sean Kirkland from DePaul University. Dr. Kirkland specializes in Ancient Greek Philosophy and phenomenology. Dr. Kirkland has also agreed to participate in a workshop with the […]

  • Denise Meda Calderon receiving Greenlee Prize

    Congratulations to Denise Meda Calderon

    The Philosophy Department is proud to announce that Denise Meda Calderon has earned the Douglas Greenlee Prize presented by the Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy (SAAP). The Douglas Greenlee Prize is awarded to either a graduate student of person holding a Ph.D. for no more than five years for the best paper presented […]

  • Michael Portal Named a Fulbright Scholar

    Congratulations to Michael Portal for being named a Fulbright Scholar for 2022. The Fulbright program recognizes rising scholars and provides the opportunity for them to travel to a country outside the United States to engage in research while embedded in a community. The program facilitates cultural exchange through direct interaction on an individual basis in […]

  • Dr Claire Katz headshot

    Dr. Katz elected to Board of the National Humanities Alliance

    Congratulations to Dr. Claire Katz for being elected to the Board of Directors of the National Humanities Alliance. Dr. Katz was elected to a two year term and joins the oversight of the business affairs and a major policy influence of the NHA. The NHA  is a nationwide coalition of organizations advocating for the humanities, […]

  • Dr. George Named 2021 Texas A&M Presidential Impact Fellow

    Congratulations to Dr. Theodore George on being named a member of the 2021 class of Presidential Impact Fellows at Texas A&M. This is the fifth class of Presidential Impact Fellows who are identified by their college and dean and confirmed by academic leadership. Each is considered to be worthy of increasingly prestigious national and international […]