Skip to main content

Recognition Roundup 2021

The College of Liberal Arts is known for having highly-regarded faculty members and students. Here, we compiled just a few of the recent recognitions from the 2021 fall semester.

Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholar

The Center for Teaching Excellence exists to provide leadership and services that contribute to improvement of teaching quality at Texas A&M University. The Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholars Program was initiated in 1991 as a cornerstone effort in this quest for sustained excellence. Each academic college annually selects one tenure-track developing faculty member for the Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholar designation. Recipients receive a $6,500 grant to research and develop innovative teaching techniques with outcomes made available to other faculty through the Center for Teaching Excellence.
  • Sarah McNamara, Ph.D.

Chancellor’s EDGES Fellowship

Chancellor John Sharp launched the Enhancing Development and Generating Excellence in Scholarship Fellowship in 2019 to honor, incentivize, and boost mid-career faculty at the associate or early full professor ranks who are making significant marks in their disciplines. The recognition highlights The Texas A&M System’s focus on supporting, retaining and recognizing faculty with significant and sustained accomplishments and the promise of continued high-impact scholarship. 

  • Sarah Zubairy, Associate Professor of Economics

Phil Gramm Fellowship

One of the four U.S. Senator Phil Gramm Fellowship recipients for 2021 is a College of Liberal Arts graduate scholar: Angela Achorn, a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Anthropology.

The U.S. Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellows Award was established to promote, encourage and reward outstanding teaching and research by doctoral students whose command of their respective disciplines exemplifies the meaning of scholar/mentor in the highest sense.

Named for Phil Gramm, who was a faculty member at Texas A&M for 12 years and served over two decades in the U.S. Congress and Senate, this prestigious award recognizes the research and scholastic accomplishments of Texas A&M doctoral students. Students are nominated by their departments and chosen by a selection committee.

Presidential Impact Fellows

Three College of Liberal Arts faculty have been honored as 2021 Presidential Impact Fellows. The fifth class of Presidential Impact Fellows joins more than 75 colleagues recognized in prior years with one of the most prestigious scholarly impact awards presented to Texas A&M faculty. The award recognizes rising stars in their respective fields, and those who embody the university commitment to advancing knowledge through transformational learning, discovery, innovation, and impact for Texas and the world.

Presidential Impact Fellows receive an annual stipend of $25,000 for three years and retain their new title for life, so long as they remain a faculty member in good standing. These award recipients were identified by their college and dean and confirmed by the academic leadership. Each is considered to be worthy of increasingly prestigious national and international professional recognitions.

  • Sheela Athreya, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
  • Jennifer Doleac, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Economics
  • Theodore George, Ph.D., Professor and Head, Department of Philosophy


Sonia Hernández – Associate Professor in the Department of History
Hernández’ collection of essays Reverberations of Racial Violence: Critical Reflections on the History of the Border was published by University of Texas Press in its Smothers Series in Texas History, Life, and Culture. This revealing collection of essays examines an investigation into a bloody period of Texas history. Hernández has also published For a Just and Better World:  Engendering Anarchism in the Mexican Borderlands, 1900–1938 with the University of Illinois Press. For a Just and Better World builds upon historic transnational connections between the cosmopolitan port of Tampico, the Rio Grande Valley of Texas, the Mexican north, and ports of entry across the Atlantic.

Brian Rouleau – Associate Professor in the Department of History
Rouleau, published Empire’s Nursery:  Children’s Literature and the Origins of the American Century with the highly regarded NYU Press. With chapter titles like “How the West was Fun” and “Comic Book Cold War,” Rouleau’s Empire’s Nursery will not just be an erudite examination of American cultural history and its sense of the world, but a book that causes us re-think the reading passions of our own youth with a new understanding and appreciation.

Jonathan Brunstedt – Assistant Professor in the Department of History
Brunstedt released his monograph The Soviet Myth of World War II:  Patriotic Memory and the Russian Question in the USSR published by Cambridge University Press! This learned and stimulating monograph dives into the myth and remembrance of the USSR’s World War II victory  by Soviet intellectuals and governing officials.

Walter Kamphoefner – Professor in the Department of History
Kamphoefner published his highly anticipated, book on the German American presence in U.S. history, Germans in America:  A Concise History, with Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. In this book, he studies the Germans—the largest and perhaps the most diverse foreign-language group in 19th century America while continuing to focus on history from the bottom up on both sides of the Atlantic as he has throughout his ground-breaking career.

Lorien Foote – Professor in the Department of History
Foote, the Patricia & Bookman Peters Professor of History, published Rites of Retaliation:  Civilization, Soldiers, and Campaigns in the American Civil War with UNC Press. Blending military and cultural history, this rich and insightful book sheds light on how Americans fought over what it meant to be civilized and who should be extended the protections of a civilized world.