Skip to main content

Faculty Affiliates

Overview

Faculty, regardless of rank, are eligible to be listed as Faculty Affiliates at the Race & Ethnic Studies Institute. Doing so helps us to curate a list of faculty doing research within RESI's purview. This list (below) provides the names, contact information, and relevant research interests for faculty across the College of Arts & Sciences and Texas A&M University as a whole who are doing cutting edge research related to race and ethnic studies. If you're not on this list and would like to be, please fill out this form to have your information added.

Faculty Affiliates

Myeshia Babers mbabers@tamu.edu Lecturer Global Language & Cultures
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Masculinity / Manhood
Mindy Bergman meb@psyc.tamu.edu Department Head Professor Psychology
  • Workplaces
  • Harassment / Organizational Climate
Carlos Blanton ckblanton@tamu.edu Department Head Professor History
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Texas
  • History / History of Ideas / Knowledge & Epistemology
Albert S. Broussard a-broussard@tamu.edu Professor History
  • Families / Relationships / Cross-Ethnoracial Relationships
  • Urban Studies
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Black Urban History
  • Civil Rights
  • Black Westerners
Takkara Brunson tbrunson@tamu.edu Associate Professor History
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • History of Race & Ethnic Theories / Studies
  • Latin America & the Caribbean
  • Cuba
Mary Campbell m-campbell@tamu.edu Director, TXRDC Professor Sociology
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Survey Measurement of Race & Ethnicity
  • Families / Relationships / Cross-Ethnoracial Relationships
  • Multiracial / Mixed-Race Identification
Ishara Casellas Connors icasellasconnors@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Bush School of Government & Public Service
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Latinx/a/o Education Policy & Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI)
Adrian V. Chavana achavana@tamu.edu ACES Assistant Professor Assistant Professor History
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Native American
  • U.S./Mexico borderlands
David Donkor dadonkor@tamu.edu Associate Professor Performance Studies
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
  • Ethnography
  • Performance Studies
Robert Durán rjduran@tamu.edu Director of Graduate Admissions Associate Professor Sociology
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Critical Race Methods & Methodology / Research Methods
  • Crime / Law
Ira Dworkin idworkin@tamu.edu Associate Professor English
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Anticolonialism
  • Transnationalism
Amy Elizabeth Earhart aearhart@tamu.edu Associate Professor English
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Digital Literary Studies
  • Critical Algorithmic Studies
Joe Feagin feagin@tamu.edu Distinguished Professor Sociology
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Urban Studies
  • Systematic Racism
Sarah Gatson gatson@tamu.edu Associate Professor Sociology
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
  • Black Feminist Theory
  • Critical Race Theory
  • Race/Ethnicity & Citizenship
  • History of Race & Ethnic Theories / Studies
Rebecca Hankins rhankins@tamu.edu Professor Global Languages & Cultures
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Religion
  • Popular Culture
  • Islam
  • Pluralism
Bryce Henson bhenson@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Afro-Latin America / Afro-Latinx Studies / Afro-Hispanic Studies
  • Marronage
Sonia Hernandez soniah@tamu.edu Professor
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • U.S./Mexico borderlands
  • Labor
Daniel L. Howard dannhoward@tamu.edu Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Minority Health
  • Racial Health Disparities
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Cultural Competency
Ege Selin Islekel selinislekel@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Philosophy
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
  • Necropolitics
  • Transnational Feminism
  • Philosophy of Race
Amir Jaima ajaima@tamu.edu Assistant Professor
  • Black Aesthetics
  • Black Male Studies
  • Africana Philosophy
Congrui Grace Jin jincongrui@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Department of Engineering Technology & Industrial Distribution
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Race/Ethnicity & Citizenship
  • STEM Education
  • Underrepresented Students / Students of Color
Koyel Khan kkhan@tamu.edu Instructional Assistant Professor Sociology
  • Religion
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
  • Nationalism / White Nationalism
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
Nadia Kim nkim777@tamu.edu Professor Sociology
  • Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
  • Nationalism / White Nationalism
  • Race & Empire
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
Antonio C. La Pastina alapastina@tamu.edu Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Indigenous Media
  • Brazil
  • Ethnography
  • Latin American Studies
Alain Laawo-Sukam lawosukam@tamu.edu Coordinator of Africana Studies Program Associate Professor Global Languages & Cultures
  • Expressive Culture / Art / Material Culture
  • Hispanic Studies
  • Afro-Hispanic Studies / African-Hispanic Studies
Robert Mackin mackin@tamu.edu Instructional Professor Sociology
  • Religion
  • Sport / Sports
  • Social Mobility
Michelle Annette Meyer michelle.meyer@tamu.edu Director, Hazard Reduction & Recovery Center Associate Professor Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning
  • Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
  • Social Vulnerability to Disaster
  • Inequality in Disaster Impacts & Recovery
  • Climate Justice
Allegra Midgette amidgett@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Microaggressions
  • Cultural Psychology
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
Regina Mills rmills@tamu.edu Assistant Professor English
  • Popular Culture
  • Afro-Latin America / Afro-Latinx Studies / Afro-Hispanic Studies
  • US-Central American Literature / Latinx Literature
  • Immigrant Narratives / Immigration & Migration Narratives
Benjamin Kofi Nutor knutor@tamu.edu Assistant Professor
  • Atlantic Slavery
  • Ethnicity & State Formation
  • Power & Resistance
Portia Owusu powusu@tamu.edu Assistant Professor English
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • History / History of Ideas / Knowledge & Epistemology
  • Diaspora Studies
Greggory Pappas g-pappas@tamu.edu Professor Philosophy
  • Latin American Philosophy / Latinx Philosophy
  • Injustuce
  • Democracy
Jasmin Patrón-Vargas patronvargas_j@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Teaching, Learning and Culture
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • K-12 Education Policy
  • Ethnic Studies Education
  • Anti-Oppressive Curricula / Critical Pedagogy
  • Race & Gender Literacy
Meg Perret megperret@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Global Languages & Cultures
  • Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
  • Feminist & Queer Theory
  • Latinx Environmentalisms
Nancy Plankey-Videla plankeyvidela@tamu.edu Director of Latino/a & Mexican American Studies Associate Professor Sociology
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Participatory Action Research / Community-Engaged Research
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Deportation
Kristan Poirot poirot@tamu.edu Executive Associate Head Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
  • Black Freedom Movements
  • Black Feminist Theory
Luis Ponjuán luis.ponjuan@tamu.edu Associate Professor Educational Administration & Human Resource Development
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Underrepresented Students / Students of Color
  • Faculty of Color
Asha Rao asha@tamu.edu Instructional Professor Biology
  • College Retention & Success
  • First Generation College Students / First Generation Low Income Students (FGLI)
  • STEM Education
  • Underrepresented Students / Students of Color
Vanita Reddy vdreddy@tamu.edu Associate Professor English
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
Omar Rivera riverao@tamu.edu Associate Professor Philosophy
  • Coloniality / Decoloniality
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • History / History of Ideas / Knowledge & Epistemology
  • Latin American Philosophy / Latinx Philosophy
Pat Rubio Goldsmith pgoldsmith@tamu.edu Professor Sociology
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Latinx/a/o Education Policy & Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI)
  • School Segregation
  • Neighborhood Segregation
Cinthya Salazar csalazar@tamu.edu Assistant Professor
  • Undocumented Students
  • College Access
  • College Retention & Success
  • Participatory Action Research / Community-Engaged Research
Emilce Santana santana@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Sociology
  • Families / Relationships / Cross-Ethnoracial Relationships
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Colorism
John Singer singerjn@tamu.edu Associate Professor Kinesiology and Sport Management (School of Education and Human Development)
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
  • Justice / Social Justice
  • Sport / Sports
  • Critical Race Theory
  • Blackness / Anti-Blackness
Kazuko Suzuki ks2303@tamu.edu Associate Professor Sociology
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
  • Asian American Studies / Asian Studies
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Immigrant Adaptation / Acculturation / Assimilation
Jyotsna Vaid jvaid@tamu.edu Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Critical Race Methods & Methodology / Research Methods
George Allen O. Villanueva gvillanueva@tamu.edu Doctoral Program Coordinator Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Discourse / Communication
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Asian American Studies / Asian Studies
  • Justice / Social Justice
  • Expressive Culture / Art / Material Culture
  • Urban Studies
Darrel Wanzer-Serrano dws@tamu.edu Director, Race and Ethnic Studies Institute (RESI) Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Latinx/a/o Education Policy & Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI)
  • Coloniality / Decoloniality
  • Discourse / Communication
  • Organizing / Organizations
Harry Yaojun Yan Harryyan@tamu.edu Assistant Professor
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Media Diversity
  • Media Effects
  • Public Opinion