Skip to main content

  • Dr. Palmer

    Dr. Palmer Earns National Endowment For The Humanities Grant

    Congratulations to Dr. Palmer for, in conjunction with Dr. Ron Sandler from Northeastern University, earning a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Their project is titled “The Ethics of Conservation Biotechnology: A conceptual Engineering Approach” which will be a volume on the ethics of biotechnology. Discover more about the National Endowment for the […]

  • Congratulations to Philosophy Department Award Winners

    Congratulations to several members of the Philosophy Department for winning College of Arts and Sciences Awards. Dr. Kristi Sweet earned a College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Excellence Award. Dr. Glen Miller earned a College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Excellence Award. Undergraduate Student Kate Girvin earned a College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Graduating […]

  • Dr. Aylsworth giving his presentation at the Davenport Ceremony.

    Philosophy Department Hosts Annual Manuel Davenport Memorial Awards and Alumni Lecture

    The Texas A&M Philosophy Department recently hosted the Manuel Davenport Annual Memorial Alumni Lecture and Student Awards Ceremony at the YMCA Building. Former student and current Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Florida International University, Dr. Timothy Aylsworth ’07 & ’10, presented the alumni lecture, “Autonomy and Attention: Polarization, Social Media, and Democracy.” The Graduate Essay […]

  • Conway

    Dr. Daniel Conway Selected as Fulbright Scholar

    Congratulations to Dr. Daniel Conway for being selected as a Fulbright US Scholar for 2022-2023 by a presidentially appointed 12-member board as a reflection of his leadership and contributions to society. The Fulbright Program is devoted to increasing mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. In being […]

  • Dr. Linda Radzik

    Dr. Linda Radzik Named to University Professorship

    Congratulations to Dr. Linda Radzik for being named to a University Professorship for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence (UPUTE). Selected professors demonstrate themselves as exceptional instructors, and innovators in pedagogy, pushing the field by exploring new teaching methods. The Thamann Professorship in Undergraduate Teaching Excellence, made possible through an endowment from Arthur J. and Wilhelmina Dore Thamann, […]

  • Denise Meda Calderon receiving Greenlee Prize

    Congratulations to Denise Meda Calderon

    The Philosophy Department is proud to announce that Denise Meda Calderon has earned the Douglas Greenlee Prize presented by the Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy (SAAP). The Douglas Greenlee Prize is awarded to either a graduate student of person holding a Ph.D. for no more than five years for the best paper presented […]

  • Michael Portal Named a Fulbright Scholar

    Congratulations to Michael Portal for being named a Fulbright Scholar for 2022. The Fulbright program recognizes rising scholars and provides the opportunity for them to travel to a country outside the United States to engage in research while embedded in a community. The program facilitates cultural exchange through direct interaction on an individual basis in […]

  • Denise Meda Calderon

    Denise Meda Calderon Earns Graduate Fellowship

    The Race & Ethnic Studies Institute (RESI) and the Carlos H. Cantu Endowment at Texas A&M University have offered Denise Meda Calderon a Graduate Fellowship in Latinx Studies. This Fellowship is offered annually to one Ph.D. level student whose research contributes to the field of Latinx studies and/or analyses of race, ethnicity, sexuality, and gender. […]

  • Dr. Palmer

    Dr. Palmer awarded an Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award

    Dr. Clare Palmer is a recipient of a 2021-2022 College-level Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching. Established in 1982, the purpose of this award is to recognize, encourage, and reward superior classroom teachers – those individuals whose command of their respective discipline, teaching methodologies, pervasive caring, communication skills, and commitment to the […]

  • headshot of Gregory Pappas

    Dr. Pappas named 2021 National Humanities Center Fellow

    Congratulations to Dr. Pappas for being named to a 2021 National Humanities Center Fellowship. Robert D. Newman, president and director of the National Humanities Center, said, “We are proud to support the work of these exceptional scholars. They were selected from an extremely competitive group of applicants, and their work covers a wide gamut of […]