Skip to main content

Faculty Affiliates

Kristi Allgood kallgood@tamu.edu Assistant Professor
  • Systematic Racism
  • Police Encounters
  • Segregation
  • Social Determinants of Health
Myeshia Babers mbabers@tamu.edu Lecturer Global Language & Cultures
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Masculinity / Manhood
Mindy Bergman meb@psyc.tamu.edu Department Head Professor Psychology
  • Workplaces
  • Harassment / Organizational Climate
Carlos Blanton ckblanton@tamu.edu Department Head Professor History
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Texas
  • History / History of Ideas / Knowledge & Epistemology
Albert S. Broussard a-broussard@tamu.edu Professor History
  • Families / Relationships / Cross-Ethnoracial Relationships
  • Urban Studies
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Black Urban History
  • Civil Rights
  • Black Westerners
Takkara Brunson tbrunson@tamu.edu Associate Professor History
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • History of Race & Ethnic Theories / Studies
  • Latin America & the Caribbean
  • Cuba
Mary Campbell m-campbell@tamu.edu Director, TXRDC Professor Sociology
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Survey Measurement of Race & Ethnicity
  • Families / Relationships / Cross-Ethnoracial Relationships
  • Multiracial / Mixed-Race Identification
Ishara Casellas Connors icasellasconnors@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Bush School of Government & Public Service
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Latinx/a/o Education Policy & Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI)
Adrian V. Chavana achavana@tamu.edu ACES Assistant Professor Assistant Professor History
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Native American
  • U.S. / Mexico borderlands
David Donkor dadonkor@tamu.edu Associate Professor Performance Studies
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
  • Ethnography
  • Performance Studies
Robert Durán rjduran@tamu.edu Director of Graduate Admissions Associate Professor Sociology
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Critical Race Methods & Methodology / Research Methods
  • Crime / Law
Ira Dworkin idworkin@tamu.edu Associate Professor English
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Anticolonialism
  • Transnationalism
Amy Elizabeth Earhart aearhart@tamu.edu Associate Professor English
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Digital Literary Studies
  • Critical Algorithmic Studies
Joe Feagin feagin@tamu.edu Distinguished Professor Sociology
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Urban Studies
  • Systematic Racism
Sarah Gatson gatson@tamu.edu Associate Professor Sociology
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
  • Black Feminist Theory
  • Critical Race Theory
  • Race/Ethnicity & Citizenship
  • History of Race & Ethnic Theories / Studies
Rebecca Hankins rhankins@tamu.edu Professor Global Languages & Cultures
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Religion
  • Popular Culture
  • Islam
  • Pluralism
Bryce Henson bhenson@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Afro-Latin America / Afro-Latinx Studies / Afro-Hispanic Studies
  • Marronage
Sonia Hernandez soniah@tamu.edu Professor
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • U.S. / Mexico borderlands
  • Labor
Brian Holzman bholzman@tamu.edu Assistant Professor School of Education
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Sociology of Education
  • Race & Ethnic Studies
  • English Learners
Daniel L. Howard dannhoward@tamu.edu Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • Minority Health
  • Racial Health Disparities
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Cultural Competency
Ege Selin Islekel selinislekel@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Philosophy
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
  • Necropolitics
  • Transnational Feminism
  • Philosophy of Race
Amir Jaima ajaima@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Philosophy
  • Black Aesthetics
  • Black Male Studies
  • Africana Philosophy
Wendy Jepson wjepson@tamu.edu Director of the Environment and Sustainability Initiative University Professor Geography
  • Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
  • Political Ecology
  • Water Equity / Justice
  • Sustainability
Congrui Grace Jin jincongrui@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Department of Engineering Technology & Industrial Distribution
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Race/Ethnicity & Citizenship
  • STEM Education
  • Underrepresented Students / Students of Color
Koyel Khan kkhan@tamu.edu Instructional Assistant Professor Sociology
  • Religion
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
  • Nationalism / White Nationalism
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
Nadia Kim nkim777@tamu.edu Professor Sociology
  • Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
  • Nationalism / White Nationalism
  • Race & Empire
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
Antonio C. La Pastina alapastina@tamu.edu Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Indigenous Media
  • Brazil
  • Ethnography
  • Latin American Studies
Alain Lawo-Sukam lawosukam@tamu.edu Coordinator of Africana Studies Program Associate Professor Global Languages & Cultures
  • Expressive Culture / Art / Material Culture
  • Hispanic Studies
  • Afro-Hispanic Studies / African-Hispanic Studies
Robert Mackin mackin@tamu.edu Instructional Professor Sociology
  • Religion
  • Sport / Sports
  • Social Mobility
Michelle Annette Meyer michelle.meyer@tamu.edu Director, Hazard Reduction & Recovery Center Associate Professor Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning
  • Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
  • Social Vulnerability to Disaster
  • Inequality in Disaster Impacts & Recovery
  • Climate Justice
Allegra Midgette amidgett@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Microaggressions
  • Cultural Psychology
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
Regina Mills rmills@tamu.edu Assistant Professor English
  • Popular Culture
  • Afro-Latin America / Afro-Latinx Studies / Afro-Hispanic Studies
  • US-Central American Literature / Latinx Literature
  • Immigrant Narratives / Immigration & Migration Narratives
Benjamin Kofi Nutor knutor@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Anthropology
  • Atlantic Slavery
  • Ethnicity & State Formation
  • Power & Resistance
Portia Owusu powusu@tamu.edu Assistant Professor English
  • Africana Studies / African American Studies / Black Studies
  • History / History of Ideas / Knowledge & Epistemology
  • Diaspora Studies
Greggory Pappas g-pappas@tamu.edu Professor Philosophy
  • Latin American Philosophy / Latinx Philosophy
  • Injustuce
  • Democracy
Kristy Pathakis kpathakis@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Political Science
  • Racial / Ethnic Identity
  • Race & Ethnic Politics
  • Political Behavior
  • Political Psychology
Jasmin Patrón-Vargas patronvargas_j@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Teaching, Learning and Culture
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • K-12 Education Policy
  • Ethnic Studies Education
  • Anti-Oppressive Curricula / Critical Pedagogy
  • Race & Gender Literacy
Meg Perret megperret@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Global Languages & Cultures
  • Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
  • Feminist & Queer Theory
  • Latinx Environmentalisms
Nancy Plankey-Videla plankeyvidela@tamu.edu Director of Latino/a & Mexican American Studies Associate Professor Sociology
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • Participatory Action Research / Community-Engaged Research
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Deportation
Kristan Poirot poirot@tamu.edu Executive Associate Head Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Intersectionality / Intersectional Racism
  • Black Freedom Movements
  • Black Feminist Theory
Luis Ponjuán luis.ponjuan@tamu.edu Associate Professor Educational Administration & Human Resource Development
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Underrepresented Students / Students of Color
  • Faculty of Color
Jolene Ramsey jolenerr@tamu.edu Accountability, Climate, Equity, and Scholarship Faculty Fellow Assistant Professor Biology
  • STEM Education
  • Student Retention
  • Disciplinary Skills
  • Microbiology
Asha Rao asha@tamu.edu Instructional Professor Biology
  • College Retention & Success
  • First Generation College Students / First Generation Low Income Students (FGLI)
  • STEM Education
  • Underrepresented Students / Students of Color
Vanita Reddy vdreddy@tamu.edu Associate Professor English
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Gender / Sexuality
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
Omar Rivera riverao@tamu.edu Associate Professor Philosophy
  • Coloniality / Decoloniality
  • Latina/o/x/e Studies / Mexican American Studies / Chicano/o/x Studies
  • History / History of Ideas / Knowledge & Epistemology
  • Latin American Philosophy / Latinx Philosophy
Pat Rubio Goldsmith pgoldsmith@tamu.edu Professor Sociology
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Latinx/a/o Education Policy & Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI)
  • School Segregation
  • Neighborhood Segregation
Cinthya Salazar csalazar@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Educational Administration and Human Resource Development
  • Undocumented Students
  • College Access
  • College Retention & Success
  • Participatory Action Research / Community-Engaged Research
Emilce Santana santana@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Sociology
  • Families / Relationships / Cross-Ethnoracial Relationships
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Colorism
John Singer singerjn@tamu.edu Associate Professor Kinesiology and Sport Management (School of Education and Human Development)
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
  • Justice / Social Justice
  • Sport / Sports
  • Critical Race Theory
  • Blackness / Anti-Blackness
Kazuko Suzuki ks2303@tamu.edu Associate Professor Sociology
  • Comparative / Relational / Global Race & Ethnic Studies
  • Asian American Studies / Asian Studies
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Immigrant Adaptation / Acculturation / Assimilation
Jyotsna Vaid jvaid@tamu.edu Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Diversity Science / Diversity
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Critical Race Methods & Methodology / Research Methods
George Allen O. Villanueva gvillanueva@tamu.edu Doctoral Program Coordinator Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Racial / Ethnic / Ethnoracial Equity & Inequality
  • Discourse / Communication
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Diaspora Studies
  • Asian American Studies / Asian Studies
  • Justice / Social Justice
  • Expressive Culture / Art / Material Culture
  • Urban Studies
Darrel Wanzer-Serrano dws@tamu.edu Director, Race and Ethnic Studies Institute (RESI) Associate Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Higher Education / Education
  • Latinx/a/o Education Policy & Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI)
  • Coloniality / Decoloniality
  • Discourse / Communication
  • Organizing / Organizations
Yiping Xia xia@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Immigration / Migration / International Migration
  • Chinese Diaspora
  • Media Sociology
  • Social Media
  • Science & Technology Studies
Harry Yaojun Yan Harryyan@tamu.edu Assistant Professor Communication & Journalism
  • Activism / Social Movements
  • Media Diversity
  • Media Effects
  • Public Opinion