Skip to main content
headshot of Gregory Pappas

Dr. Pappas named 2021 National Humanities Center Fellow

Posted May 19, 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Pappas for being named to a 2021 National Humanities Center Fellowship. Robert D. Newman, president and director of the National Humanities Center, said, “We are proud to support the work of these exceptional scholars. They were selected from an extremely competitive group of applicants, and their work covers a wide gamut of […]

Dr Claire Katz headshot

Dr. Katz Named 2020-2021 Piper Professor

Posted May 12, 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Katz for being named a 2020-2021 Piper Professor. This prestigious award has been given annual to 10 teachers in Texas since 1958 by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation for superior teaching at the college level. In her nomination, one student said Dr. Katz was a great professor because, “She values her students’ […]

Congratulations Undergraduate Winners

Posted May 12, 2021

Congratulations to Undergraduate Essay Contest Winner Jacob Dominguez and Davenport Service Award Winners Eric Nash and Travis Steubing. These students were honored at the annual Department of Philosophy’s Manuel Davenport Memorial Alumnus Lecture and Student Award Ceremony. Jacob Dominguez won for the essay “Aristotle’s Agent Intellect Identified”. Eric Nash was honored for work on the Aletheia and […]