Skip to main content

Faculty

Ernesto Amaral Associate Professor Director of Graduate Retention, Professional Development and Placement Academic 415 (979) 845-9706 amaral@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Social Demography
  • Migration
  • Public Policy Analysis
Mary Campbell Co-Director, Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates Program Associate Professor Director, Texas Federal Statistical Research Data Center
Associate Department Head
Academic 327C (979) 845-6549 m-campbell@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Racial and Ethnic Identity
  • Social Inequality
  • Social Demography
Samuel Cohn Professor Academic 417 (979) 450-814 s-cohn@tamu.edu
  • Economic Development
  • Sociology of the Third World
  • Gender and Development
Katheryn Dietrich Instructional Professor Director of Undergraduate Programs Academic 306D (979) 845-9223 kdietrich@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnic Relations
  • Classical Sociological Theory
  • Contemporary Sociological Theory
Robert J. Durán Associate Professor Academic 426 (979) 845-0813 rjduran@tamu.edu
  • Criminology and Race
  • Racialized Social Control
  • Latina/o/x Criminology/Sociology
  • Violence
  • Urban Ethnography
  • Youth Justice
Joe Feagin Ella C. McFadden Professor Distinguished Professor Academic 431 (979) 862-3952 feagin@tamu.edu
  • Racial and Ethnic Studies
  • Gender Relations
  • Urban Political Economy
Mark Fossett College of Liberal Arts Cornerstone Faculty Fellow Professor Associate Director, Texas Federal Statistical Research Data Center Academic 409B (979) 845-0812 m-fossett@tamu.edu
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Social Inequality
  • Social Demography
  • Urban Sociology
  • Statistical Methods
  • Quantitative Techniques
Holly Foster Chancellor EDGES Fellow Professor Academic 304B (979) 458-2268 hfoster@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Crime, Incarceration and Violence Exposure
  • Life Course
  • Social Inequality
  • Health
  • Deviance
  • Quantitative and Mixed Methods
Sarah Gatson Associate Professor Academic 427 (979) 845-7267 gatson@tamu.edu
  • Race, Ethnic and Minority Relations
  • Law and Society
  • Cultural Sociology
  • Gender
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Community and Citizenship
  • Communication and Information Technology
Pat Rubio Goldsmith Professor Interim Department Head Academic 325A pgoldsmith@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Sociology of Education
  • Latinx Sociology
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Immigration
  • Quantitative Methods
Omar Hakim Professor of Practice Academic 328A ohakim@tamu.edu
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Technology commercialization
  • Social impacts of antitrust regulatory policies
  • Innovation studies
  • Intellectual property valuation frameworks
  • Cross-licensing, patent pools, standards and their impact on competition and innovation
  • Antitrust and “abuse of dominance” regulatory frameworks
  • Anticompetitive effects of common ownership
  • Soil plasticity, and its impact on real estate property valuations and public school educational funding
Troy D. Harden Professor of Practice Director, Race and Ethnic Studies Institute (RESI) Academic 439 (979) 862-4650 tharden@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Exposure to Violence and Social Trauma
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Community Justice
Alexander A. Hernandez Co-Director, Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates Program Instructional Assistant Professor Academic 325C aahernandez@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Science, Technology and Knowledge
  • Sociology of Work
  • Aging and the Life Course
  • Sociological Pedagogy
Joseph Jewell Associate Professor Academic 419 (979) 458-0491 jjewell@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Intersections of Race, Class and Gender
  • Sociology of African Americans
  • Historical Sociology
  • Sociology of Education
Chaitanya Lakkimsetti Associate Professor Academic 305C (979) 845-0813 clakkimsetti@tamu.edu
  • Gender
  • Sexuality
  • Globalization
  • Law and Society
  • Political Sociology
Judith A. Linneman Instructional Professor Director of Instructional Training and Teaching Resources Academic 423 (979) 845-0816 j-linneman@tamu.edu
  • Teaching Sociology
  • Rural Sociology
  • Environmental Sociology
  • Family
Robert Mackin Instructional Associate Professor Academic 428 (979) 862-1548 mackin@tamu.edu
  • Political Sociology
  • Sociology of Religion
  • Comparative and Historical
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Latin America
William McIntosh Professor Academic 435 (979) 845-8525 w-mcintosh@tamu.edu
  • Culture
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Health
  • Health Behavior
Kelly McNamara Lecturer knmcnamara33@tamu.edu
  • Organizational Sociology
  • Reproduction and Birth
  • Sex and Gender
Stjepan Meštrović Professor Academic 438 mestrovic@tamu.edu
  • Social theory
  • Durkheim
  • Culture
  • War Crimes
Wendy Moore Associate Professor Academic 421 (979) 845-5133 wlmoore@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Critical Race Theory
  • Sociology of Law
  • Race, Class and Gender
  • Ethnographic Methods
Theresa Morris Professor Coordinator of the Women's and Gender Studies Program Academic 416 (979) 862-3193 theresa.morris@tamu.edu
  • Organizations
  • Gender
  • Reproduction and Birth
Defne Over Assistant Professor Academic 437 (979) 845-7285 dover@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • State-Society Relations
  • Legal and Political Institutions
  • Political Communication
  • Social Movements
  • Identity
Heili Pals Associate Professor Director of Graduate Admissions Academic 325B hpals@tamu.edu
  • Social Psychology
  • Deviance
  • Transition to Adulthood
  • Life Course
  • Inequality
  • Health
  • Gay and Lesbian Studies
  • Transitional Societies
  • Quantitative Research
Nancy Plankey-Videla Associate Professor Academic 323A (979) 845-5483 plankeyvidela@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Immigration
  • Latinx Sociology
  • Gender and Work
  • Community Based Research
Harland Prechel Professor Academic 437 (979) 845-6424 hprechel@tamu.edu
  • Economic Sociology
  • Political Sociology
  • The Corporation
  • Class
  • Comparative and Historical Sociology
  • Theory
Arthur Sakamoto Professor Academic 425A asakamoto@tamu.edu
  • Social Stratification and Inequality
  • Economic Sociology
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Japan
Emilce Santana Visiting Assistant Professor Academic 304A santana@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Immigration
  • Social Stratification
Kazuko Suzuki Associate Professor Academic 433 ks2303@tamu.edu
  • International Migration
  • Comparative Race and Ethnic Studies
  • Gender
  • East Asian Studies
  • Asian American Studies
  • Human Trafficking
  • Japanese Popular Culture
Patricia Thornton Professor Academic 328B phthornton@tamu.edu
  • Institutional and Organization Theory
  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Social and Cultural Factors Associated with Entrepreneurship
Warren Waren Instructional Associate Professor Academic 422 (979) 847-9494 wwaren@tamu.edu
  • Social Inequality
  • Demography
  • Sociology of Music
Timothy Woods Instructional Professor Director of Undergraduate Curriculum Academic 306C (979) 458-2746 twoods@tamu.edu
  • Aging and Gerontology
  • Community
  • Death and Dying
  • Organizations
  • Social Problems
  • Service-Learning