Skip to main content

Faculty

Ernesto Amaral Assistant Professor Academic 415 (979) 845-9706 amaral@tamu.edu
  • Social Demography
  • Migration
  • Public Policy Analysis
Mary Campbell Co-Director, Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates Program Associate Professor Associate Department Head Academic 327C (979) 845-6549 m-campbell@tamu.edu
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Racial and Ethnic Identity
  • Social Inequality
  • Social Demography
Samuel Cohn Professor Academic 417 (979) 450-814 s-cohn@tamu.edu
  • Economic Development
  • Sociology of the Third World
  • Gender and Development
Katheryn Dietrich Instructional Professor Director of Undergraduate Programs Academic 306D (979) 845-9223 kdietrich@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnic Relations
  • Classical Sociological Theory
  • Contemporary Sociological Theory
Robert J. Durán Associate Professor Academic 426 (979) 845-0813 rjduran@tamu.edu
  • Criminology and Race
  • Urban Ethnography
  • Juvenile Delinquency and Justice
  • Latina/o/x Criminology and Sociology
  • Public Health
Joe Feagin Ella C. McFadden Professor Distinguished Professor Academic 431 (979) 862-3952 feagin@tamu.edu
  • Racial and Ethnic Studies
  • Gender Relations
  • Urban Political Economy
Mark Fossett College of Liberal Arts Cornerstone Faculty Fellow Professor Director, Texas Federal Statistical Research Data Center Academic 409B (979) 845-0812 m-fossett@tamu.edu
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Social Inequality
  • Social Demography
  • Urban Sociology
  • Statistical Methods
  • Quantitative Techniques
Holly Foster Chancellor EDGES Fellow Professor Academic 304B (979) 458-2268 hfoster@tamu.edu
  • Crime, Incarceration and Violence Exposure
  • Life Course
  • Social Inequality
  • Health
  • Deviance
  • Quantitative and Mixed Methods
Sarah Gatson Associate Professor Academic 427 (979) 845-7267 gatson@tamu.edu
  • Race, Ethnic and Minority Relations
  • Law and Society
  • Cultural Sociology
  • Gender
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Community and Citizenship
  • Communication and Information Technology
Pat Rubio Goldsmith Associate Professor Director of Graduate Admissions Academic 325A pgoldsmith@tamu.edu
  • Sociology of Education
  • Latinx Sociology
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Immigration
  • Quantitative Methods
Omar Hakim Professor of Practice Academic 328A ohakim@tamu.edu
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Technology Commercialization
Alexander A. Hernandez Co-Director, Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates Program Instructional Assistant Professor Academic 430 aahernandez@tamu.edu
  • Science, Technology and Knowledge
  • Sociology of Work
  • Aging and the Life Course
  • Sociological Pedagogy
Joseph Jewell Associate Professor Academic 419 (979) 458-0491 jjewell@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Intersections of Race, Class and Gender
  • Sociology of African Americans
  • Historical Sociology
  • Sociology of Education
Chaitanya Lakkimsetti Assistant Professor Academic 305C (979) 845-0813 clakkimsetti@tamu.edu
  • Gender
  • Sexuality
  • Globalization
  • Law and Society
  • Political Sociology
Judith A. Linneman Instructional Professor Director of Instructional Training and Teaching Resources Academic 423 (979) 845-0816 j-linneman@tamu.edu
  • Teaching Sociology
  • Rural Sociology
  • Environmental Sociology
  • Family
Robert Mackin Instructional Associate Professor Academic 428 (979) 862-1548 mackin@tamu.edu
  • Political Sociology
  • Sociology of Religion
  • Comparative and Historical
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Latin America
Reuben A. Buford May Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence Academic 439 (979) 862-4650 rmay@tamu.edu
  • Race and Culture
  • Sociology of Sport
  • Sociology of the Everyday
  • Urban Ethnography
William McIntosh Professor Academic 435 (979) 845-8525 w-mcintosh@tamu.edu
  • Culture
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Health
  • Health Behavior
Stjepan Meštrović Professor Academic 438 mestrovic@tamu.edu
  • Social theory
  • Durkheim
  • Culture
  • War Crimes
Wendy Moore Associate Professor Academic 421 (979) 845-5133 wlmoore@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Critical Race Theory
  • Sociology of Law
  • Race, Class and Gender
  • Ethnographic Methods
Theresa Morris Professor Coordinator of the Women's and Gender Studies Program Academic 416 (979) 862-3193 theresa.morris@tamu.edu
  • Organizations
  • Gender
  • Reproduction and Birth
Melissa K. Ochoa Garza Lecturer melisa8a@tamu.edu
  • Gender
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Social Psychology
Heili Pals Associate Professor Director of Graduate Retention, Professional Development and Placement Academic 325B hpals@tamu.edu
  • Social Psychology
  • Deviance
  • Transition to Adulthood
  • Life Course
  • Inequality
  • Health
  • Gay and Lesbian Studies
  • Transitional Societies
  • Quantitative Research
Nancy Plankey-Videla Associate Professor Academic 323A (979) 845-5483 plankeyvidela@tamu.edu
  • Immigration
  • Latino/a Sociology
  • Sociology of Work
  • Gender
  • Globalization and Development
  • Latin America
  • Qualitative Methods
Harland Prechel Professor Academic 437 (979) 845-6424 hprechel@tamu.edu
  • Economic Sociology
  • Political Sociology
  • The Corporation
  • Class
  • Comparative and Historical Sociology
  • Theory
Arthur Sakamoto Professor Academic 425A asakamoto@tamu.edu
  • Social Stratification and Inequality
  • Economic Sociology
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Japan
Emilce Santana Visiting Assistant Professor Academic 304A santana@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Immigration
  • Social Stratification
Jane Sell Professor Interim Department Head Academic 313A (979) 845-6120 j-sell@tamu.edu
  • Social Psychology
  • Small Groups
Kazuko Suzuki Associate Professor Academic 433 ks2303@tamu.edu
  • International Migration
  • Comparative Race and Ethnic Studies
  • Gender
  • East Asian Studies
  • Asian American Studies
  • Human Trafficking
  • Japanese Popular Culture
Patricia Thornton Professor Academic 328B phthornton@tamu.edu
  • Institutional and Organization Theory
  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Social and Cultural Factors Associated with Entrepreneurship
Warren Waren Instructional Assistant Professor Academic 422 (979) 847-9494 wwaren@tamu.edu
  • Social Inequality
  • Demography
  • Sociology of Music
Timothy Woods Instructional Associate Professor Director of Undergraduate Curriculum Academic 306C (979) 458-2746 twoods@tamu.edu
  • Aging and Gerontology
  • Community
  • Death and Dying
  • Organizations
  • Social Problems
  • Service-Learning
Defne Över Assistant Professor Academic 420 dover@tamu.edu
  • State-Society Relations
  • Legal and Political Institutions
  • Political Communication
  • Social Movements
  • Identity