Skip to main content

Faculty

Richard D. Abel Lecturer LASB 347 rdabel@tamu.edu
Ernesto Amaral Associate Professor LASB 320 (979) 845-9706 amaral@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Social Demography
  • Migration
  • Public Policy Analysis
Kirstie M. Boyett Lecturer LASB 349 KirstieMBoyett@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Social Psychology
  • Gender
  • Crime, Law and Deviance
  • Sexual Violence
  • Victimology
Mary Campbell Director, Texas Federal Statistical Research Data Center (TXRDC) Professor LASB 311E m-campbell@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Racial and Ethnic Identity
  • Social Inequality
  • Social Demography
Samuel Cohn Professor LASB 327 (979) 845-0814 s-cohn@tamu.edu
  • Economic Development
  • Sociology of the Third World
  • Gender and Development
Katheryn Dietrich Instructional Professor Director of Undergraduate Programs LASB 351 kdietrich@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnic Relations
  • Classical Sociological Theory
  • Contemporary Sociological Theory
Robert J. Durán Associate Professor LASB 360 rjduran@tamu.edu
  • Criminology and Race
  • Racialized Social Control
  • Latina/o/x Criminology/Sociology
  • Violence
  • Urban Ethnography
  • Youth Justice
Joe Feagin Ella C. McFadden Professor Distinguished Professor LASB 314 (979) 862-3952 feagin@tamu.edu
  • Racial and Ethnic Studies
  • Systemic Racism Issues
  • Anti-Racist Education
  • Gender Relations
  • Urban Political Economy
Mark Fossett College of Liberal Arts Cornerstone Faculty Fellow Professor Associate Director, Texas Federal Statistical Research Data Center LASB 311J m-fossett@tamu.edu
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Social Inequality
  • Social Demography
  • Urban Sociology
  • Statistical Methods
  • Quantitative Techniques
Holly Foster Chancellor EDGES Fellow Professor LASB 379 (979) 458-2268 hfoster@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Crime
  • Incarceration
  • Violence Exposure (victimization and witnessing)
  • Life Course
  • Social Inequality
  • Health
  • Quantitative and Mixed Methods
Steve Garner Professor Department Head LASB 311GA (979) 845-9314 steve.garner@tamu.edu

• Racism
• Intersections of race, class and nation
• Whitenesss
• Ethnicity
• Immigration
• Political sociology
• Special focus European and international comparative

Sarah Gatson Associate Professor LASB 311F gatson@tamu.edu
  • Race/Ethnicity
  • Law and Society
  • Cultural Sociology
  • Race/Class/Gender
  • Black Feminist Theory
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Community and Citizenship
  • Communication and Information Technology
Pat Rubio Goldsmith Professor LASB 316 pgoldsmith@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Sociology of Education
  • Latinx Sociology
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Immigration
  • Quantitative Methods
Omar Hakim, P.E. Professor of Practice LASB 377 ohakim@tamu.edu
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Technology commercialization
  • Social impacts of antitrust regulatory policies
  • Innovation studies
  • Intellectual property valuation frameworks
  • Cross-licensing, patent pools, standards and their impact on competition and innovation
  • Antitrust and “abuse of dominance” regulatory frameworks
  • Anticompetitive effects of common ownership
  • Soil plasticity, its impact on residential real estate property valuations, and the resulting public school educational funding implications
Troy D. Harden Professor of Practice Director, Race and Ethnic Studies Institute (RESI) LASB 339 (979) 862-4650 tharden@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Exposure to Violence and Social Trauma
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Community Justice
Alexander A. Hernandez Co-Director, Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates Program Instructional Associate Professor LASB 376 aahernandez@tamu.edu he/him/his
  • Science, Technology and Knowledge
  • Sociology of Work
  • Aging and the Life Course
  • Sociological Pedagogy
Chaitanya Lakkimsetti Associate Professor Associate Department Head LASB 354 clakkimsetti@tamu.edu
  • Gender
  • Sexuality
  • Globalization
  • Law and Society
  • Political Sociology
Judith A. Linneman Instructional Professor Director of Instructional Training and Teaching Resources LASB 378 j-linneman@tamu.edu
  • Teaching Sociology
  • Rural Sociology
  • Environmental Sociology
  • Family
Robert Mackin Instructional Professor LASB 337 mackin@tamu.edu
  • Political Sociology
  • Sociology of Religion
  • Comparative and Historical
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Latin America
Stjepan Meštrović Professor LASB 326 (979) 845-6121 mestrovic@tamu.edu
  • Social theory
  • Durkheim
  • Culture
  • War Crimes
Wendy Moore Associate Professor LASB 343 wlmoore@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Critical Race Theory
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Sociology of Law
  • Race, Class and Gender
  • Ethnographic Methods
Theresa Morris Professor Coordinator of the Women's and Gender Studies Program LASB 321 (979) 862-3193 theresa.morris@tamu.edu
  • Organizations
  • Gender
  • Reproduction and Birth
Defne Over Assistant Professor LASB 356 (979) 845-7285 dover@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • State-Society Relations
  • Legal and Political Institutions
  • Political Communication
  • Social Movements
  • Identity
Heili Pals Associate Professor Director of Graduate Admissions LASB 311L hpals@tamu.edu
  • Social Psychology
  • Deviance
  • Transition to Adulthood
  • Life Course
  • Inequality
  • Health
  • Gay and Lesbian Studies
  • Transitional Societies
  • Quantitative Research
Nancy Plankey-Videla Associate Professor, courtesy joint appointment with the School of Law LASB 381 (979) 845-5483 plankeyvidela@tamu.edu she/her/hers
  • Immigration
  • Latinx Sociology
  • Gender and Work
  • Community Based Research
Harland Prechel Professor LASB 373 hprechel@tamu.edu
  • Economic Sociology
  • Political Sociology
  • The Corporation
  • Class
  • Comparative and Historical Sociology
  • Theory
Arthur Sakamoto Professor Director of Graduate Retention, Professional Development and Placement LASB 323 (979) 862-3577 asakamoto@tamu.edu
  • Social Stratification and Inequality
  • Economic Sociology
  • Racial and Ethnic Relations
  • Japan
Emilce Santana Assistant Professor LASB 380 santana@tamu.edu
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • Immigration
  • Social Stratification
Kazuko Suzuki Associate Professor LASB 357 (979) 458-2658 ks2303@tamu.edu
  • International Migration
  • Comparative Race and Ethnic Studies
  • Gender
  • East Asian Studies
  • Asian American Studies
  • Human Trafficking
  • Japanese Popular Culture
Patricia H. Thornton Professor and Grand Challenge Initiative Faculty in Sociology and Entrepreneurship, Senior Research Fellow, HEC Paris Professor Senior Research Fellow, Center for Society and Organizations, HEC, Paris LASB 325 phthornton@tamu.edu
  • Entrepreneurship, Innovation
  • Organization and Management Theory
  • Institutional Theory
  • Institutional Logics
  • Cultural Entrepreneurship
  • Creative Industries
  • Action Learning
Warren Waren Instructional Associate Professor Director of Undergraduate Curriculum LASB 374 (979) 847-9494 wwaren@tamu.edu
  • Social Inequality
  • Demography
  • Sociology of Music
Joan Wolf Associate Professor LASB 341 wolfj@tamu.edu
  • Gender
  • Family
  • Health
Timothy Woods Instructional Professor LASB 345 twoods@tamu.edu
  • Aging and Gerontology
  • Community
  • Death and Dying
  • Organizations
  • Social Problems
  • Service-Learning